The Best Exclamations to Make when You See Something Beautiful in the Outdoors

This fall I went to Wyoming’s Wind River Mountains for the first time. My friend Torin had been there before, but you never would have guessed so by his reaction when we turned the final corner of the Forest Service road and Squaretop Mountain came into view.  Torin was driving a little fast, probably speeding, but when we first spotted Squaretop and the surrounding Green Lakes area, he pressed on the brakes and said something like, “AHHHHOOOHHHH!!!!! WHATTT THE HELL!?” The view was amazing. I think it was literally “breathtaking” and neither of us could inhale or exhale for a few second afterward. Eventually we started driving forward again while discussing how we were unsure if we had seen such natural beauty before. The rest of our weekend was spent pack rafting the area and simply staring in pure wonderment of the mountain range, rivers, and lakes.

Being an outdoor enthusiast living in Utah, I often take advantage of the beauty that surrounds my everyday life. However, doing things with people like my friend Torin remind me how fortunate I really am to view wonderfully shaped, pointy mountains out my front door. When I see such beauty, I think it’s important to let everyone around us know how awesome we think it looks.

To help facilitate this, I’ve compiled a list of my favorite phrases that myself and my friends have been saying. People always tell us to think before we speak, but I tend to throw that advice out the window when I view a desert river, a mountain range, or fall foliage in New England, for example.

By the way, if you are one of those people with a distaste for uppercase letters, I’m sorry for the list. Actually…no I’m not…you should probably just be more enthusiastic. Here we go…

“HOLY CRAP THAT’S AWESOME”

“CAN YOU EVEN BELIEVE WE ARE LOOKING AT THIS”

“I THINK I’M GOING TO FAINT”

“ARE WE ON THE BACKGROUND OF SOMEONE’S COMPUTER RIGHT NOW?”

“THIS BEAUTY IS PROOF THAT GOD EXISTS”

“I WANT TO HIGH FIVE THE WORLD RIGHT NOW. GREAT JOB WORLD!”

“I THINK I SAW A POSTER OF THIS EXACT VIEW ONCE. HOLY SHIT”

“I HAD NO IDEA THAT NATURE COULD BE THIS AMAZING”

“I AM HAPPY TO BE ALIVE RIGHT NOW AND THIS IS BEAUTIFUL”

All of these are excellent phrases and I fully endorse you and your friends exclaiming them. However, I also want to remark that occasionally, once every few years, we see something that leaves us at a real loss for words. Perhaps, like Torin and I were in the Wind Rivers, you will be out of breath. Savor those moments and take a mental picture for those are the truly amazing experiences that make outdoor recreation as special as it is.

-Nick McEachern

Leave a Reply

